2009 F4 Chutzpah Award

19 06 2009

At our Spring BBQ this week, we awarded this year’s Chutzpah Award to Myra Aronson and Edward Dageforde.  As the name suggests, these two F4 athletes have demonstrated the true FastForward spirit with their determination to get the very most from each training season, workout, and across a range of races.  Congratulations to you both!

Here is an excerpt from Edward’s acceptance speech:

I want to thank you and your staff for selecting me for the male chutzpah award.

I am not sure what exactly I did to deserve the award other than follow all of your instructions, and then just press play in every race. This is after all what your program is all about.

I have been continually improving since joining F4, and based on the 10 year rule I can for a few years still. Can is the key word because you have to have the desire and put in the effort to actually achieve it. I have that desire to always do the best that I am capable of doing, knowing that each race will be what it will be and I can only give to it what my body is capable of on that particular day.

I guess I added my own quality, striving to gain insights into the art and science of racing so that I can do my best and improve my times, just because. I am after all just in the middle of the pack for my age group (8/16 in last Saturday’s duathlon) and so not likely to win any race awards. But that does not mean I don’t want to end a race feeling like I raced it well, I raced it right, and I ended with nothing left to give. I am ultimately competing against myself.

And then there was sharing what I have learned along the way with a few of my fellow athletes. Helping Jennifer think of a way to judge her races and effort that has worked well for me, monitoring my breathing. I think it helped her with the Bolder Boulder. Or Mike saying “What would Ed do?” when thinking about cadence or pace.

When you look at it though, it all comes back to you, your staff, and the program. Scott, you saw potential and offered me alternatives such as the Haystack Mountain TT. All of you celebrate the athlete in everyone in your program, from the fastest to the slowest, and that carries over to the individual athletes. It is a group that supports each other. Listens to what went right for an individual, and what went wrong. We are all just trying to do our best and celebrate that effort, and your program does just that. And together as part of the F4 family we continually strive to achieve our goals, whatever they may be.

So thank you for the award. I shall continue to keep doing what I have done to show that I truly deserved it.

-edward dageforde

Actions

Information

2 responses

22 06 2009
Myra Aronson

My inspirational good friend and fellow recipient Edward said so much in his acceptance speech that I agree with, especially the big thank you to Fast Forward Sports for this rockin’ award!

I was particularly excited about being able to pronounce chutzpah, although not sure I would have known how to spell it…. And I do know what it means! Dictionary definition of the Yiddish is: unbelievable gall; insolence; audacity. I think buried in there is also boldness, and pride. And as I know it, guts.

For sure there are days when making it through a race takes chutzpa. Like when your legs feel like rubber and your lungs are burning and nothing has gone the way you envisioned. Heck there are days when just getting to your workout takes chutzpa! Especially when you’ve decided to go do laps in the res at 6:15 am! Or run in a blizzard or snowshoe race with the wind blowing icy snow in your face. Which is why I love Fast Forward…

Fast Forward is a community of like-minded individuals who support each other in their attempts to excel, whether that means running a mile for the first time, or qualifying for Ironman Hawaii, again. It is a soft landing place where stories are shared and lessons are learned. It’s a pump-you-up, hang in there, nice going, try it this way, you’re looking strong, where did you find those awesome shoelaces, don’t forget to hydrate kind of place.

I learn so much from each and every one of my fellow athletes, coaches, and resource partners. On any given day if I can’t find the chutzpah, someone else has it and that’s all I need to keep giving my best!

I am honored to have received this award. Please help me eat my lifetime supply of chocolate mint Cliff bars!

23 06 2009
evie aronson

Congrats to Edward and Myra!
Leave it to my sister to win the CHUTZPAH award, AND be able to pronounce it!
I always looked up to Myra as an inspiration – from the time when she was the only girl on the track team in H.S. which made me want to run track and XC.
I haven’t kept in as good shape as Myra has… but maybe the excitement of this Chutzpah award will kick-start me to get fit.
I am so amazed and proud of Myra for her recent achievements and glad she found this family and support with F4WD…KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!!!
ummmm, Chocolate Mint Cliff Bars?…..Yes, please.
xxoo – evie aronson – NYC.

Leave a Reply

