24 Hours of Triathlon Could Make you Hungry!

31 07 2007

Following my recent disappointment at Ironman Coeur d’ Alene, I’d done a lot of thinking about what do with all this fitness:) In fact, while riding the last few miles of that race before dropping out with mechanical (and emotional) challenges, I’d decided to focus on short races like Sprint Tri’s and XTERRA. The thinking was to have a greater chance of “getting to the bottom of my fitness” before issues beyond my control might derail a great race.

So, with all this in mind, I’ve decided the logical thing to do for my next “A” goal race on September 1st and 2nd, is to enter the 24 Hours of Triathlon in the SOLO division, and attempt to set a Guinness-Book World Record for most swimming, biking, and running in one day. See pics for the 2006 Event.

BUT, this time instead of racing primarily for my own cause, I’ve partnered with Brad and Libby Birky of SAME Cafe in Denver in order to lend a hand with their cause of helping to eliminate hunger in today’s society.

Brad, who has been a coach for me in the past, has always shown an interest in helping people whether through sharing his passion for running, or by volunteering at shelters and food banks. Together with his wife Libby, who shares these feelings, they’ve decided to do something wonderfully different, by opening a unique, non-profit restaurant, where there are no set prices, or even a cash register: A donation box is available for one to pay what they felt their meal was worth, or to leave a little more and help out someone less fortunate. If a diner does not have sufficient money to leave, they are encouraged to exchange an hour of service in the restaurant for a full meal voucher.

To help keep me going for 24 Hours, I’m asking for contributions to be made to SAME Cafe, based on how many miles I cover during the event. While I’m hoping to eclipse 200 miles, and perhaps win the event, I know that for every step, pedal, and swim stroke I take, someone who is hungry may get a meal… and on this particular day that will mean more than my individual result.

If you’d like to help, please send your pledge per mile and contact info to nancyk@fastforwardsports.net. After the event, we plan to select a day to visit SAME Cafe when you’ll be able to enjoy a meal and make your contribution in person. If you can’t attend, we’ll be happy to receive your check in advance and present it on your behalf.

If you’d like to join me on Labor Day Weekend and are looking for teammates or to volunteer, please visit the F4 Message Board (F4 athletes only) or our Contact Us page, or just go directly to the 24 HOT site and sign up before August 4th when the entry fee goes up.

I hope to see you at Cherry Creek State Park on Labor Day weekend, or soon after at SAME Cafe.

Scott

Actions

Information

4 responses

1 08 2007
brettastor

Hi Scott — I love the idea of supporting a cause as a way for others to benefit from your athletic endeavors. I just sent a pledge in to Nancy – and I’ll double it if you win the event. Best wishes. -Brett

1 08 2007
FastForward Sports

Thanks Brett!

3 08 2007
nancykay

The pledges are rolling in!!! 🙂 Thanks to everyone who has emailed already!! I just wanted to clarify…anyone can pledge a certain amount per mile, such as Brett did, or you can just make a one-time donation based on Scott finishing the event. Email me if you have any questions: nancyk@fastforwardsports.net

29 08 2007
Race for a Cause… but for What or for Whom? « FastForward Sports Blog

[…] but for What or for Whom? 29 08 2007 This Saturday (and Sunday) I am participating in the 24 Hours of Triathlon in the Solo division.  I am motivated by testing my own limits, enjoying competition with other […]

Leave a Reply

