Jen’s Boulder Peak ’07

22 07 2007

Jen Szabo- Boulder Peak TRI on July 22, 2007

Jen and Men’s Pro Winner, Matt Reed, hit the finish line ‘together’!

peakrockstr.jpg

Have you ever wondered what F4’s motto “When you are pre-recorded for success…JUST PRESS PLAY” means? In the past three years it has progressively started to make sense, however after completing the Boulder Peak Triathlon for the first time I truly understand it! My progression as an “athlete” gets a step further every time I take a stride, stroke or spin and trust me it is often scary and I don’t always know what to expect. A wise ol’ soul once told me…”trust your training”.

While training I took a lot of notes of the things that I felt uneasy about and asked my coach, other coaches, guides, and my fellow teammates A LOT of questions (even the stupid/silly ones) to help ease that uneasiness. For example, I didn’t like the way I was controlling (or not controlling) my bike as I was climbing. So I noted what it was that I felt uncomfortable about; noting the moment it happens, what I was doing, how long it was for etc…Then I began to educate myself on how to make it better. I think the coaches I worked with can tell you that I got my money’s worth! (That is what they are there for!) I put into practice the things that I learned and come race day I was able to conquer Old Stage both mentally and physically…I even passed a few people!

Being pre-recorded means to me that I’ve done the training, taken the notes, practiced the things that would come up during the race so that when the gun went off all I had to do was PRESS PLAY. The fears and anxieties went away (mostly)!

Although I was tired when I crossed the finish line on Sunday, I knew I had succeeded. Not because I meet my four hour time goal by finishing in 3:59:59 but because I raced smart, had fun, felt confident and trusted my training to get me through even if at times I didn’t trust myself.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

